Driving Under the Influence of Drugs and/or Alcohol (DUI)
Getting arrested was probably one of the worst experiences in your life. Most people come away feeling embarrassed or humiliated. It’s okay if you’re feeling that way, just know that the worst is probably behind you and things are going to get better.
There are many of issues that need to be explored when defending against a DUI. Typically, two of the most significant issues are:
DUI is a unique crime in the United States in that people from all walks of life find themselves charged with DUI. You’d be surprised how many people you know including doctors, lawyers, company CEOs and even police officers have been charged with DUI sometime in their lives. If you’ve been charged with a DUI it doesn’t mean you’re a bad person. DUI charges are usually the result of a error in judgment. People typically don’t consciously drive under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol. Instead, people drive under the mistaken belief that they are “okay” to drive. Unfortunately, there isn’t any practical way for most people to know what their blood alcohol concentration is before they start driving. Advances in technology may solve that problem in the next few years but for the time being we have to rely on our own judgement and our family and friends to help us make good decisions about drinking and driving.
In Kansas, a first offense DUI is a class B misdemeanor which carries a maximum sentence of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. What makes a DUI different from other offenses is that a first offense DUI conviction carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 2 days in jail and a $750 fine. Unfortunately, if this isn’t your first DUI, the penalties will be worse if you’re convicted.
There are also license consequences if you have been arrested for a DUI. It is very important for you to understand that the license consequences are separate and distinct from the criminal charges. Sometimes prosecutors dismiss DUI charges with the intent of refiling them at a later date. Chances are you’re still under a 14-day deadline to request an administrative license hearing even if the criminal charges have been dismissed. What You Need To Do To Try And Save Your License
If you’ve been charged with a DUI you’ll have to decide whether to take the case to trial, plead guilty (usually not a great option) or apply for diversion (only a option on a first offense DUI). There’s no way to know which option is right for you until we review the evidence in your case including the arrest report, arrest video and breath or blood test records.
Click on these links for more information related to DUIs:
Don’t put off dealing with this, ignoring it won’t make it go away and could make it worse. If you need help with a DUI charge, complete and submit this form.
Call Michael R. Clarke if you need help.
Viewing this website does not create an attorney-client relationship.
Copyright 2017 Michael R. Clarke - Kansas criminal defense attorney.
Mailing Address: Clarke Law Office, 1441 Wakarusa Drive, Suite 200, Lawrence, KS 66049